Apply For A Tampa Marriage License
Are You Looking for Information About Obtaining a Marriage License in Tampa, Florida?
To apply for a marriage license in Tampa, you will need to visit the Hillsborough County Clerk of Circuit Courts at 419 Pierce, room 140 in Tampa. The hours of operation are between 8am and 5pm Monday through Friday. You will need to appear in person with your intended spouse to apply for your marriage license. You will both need to have a photo ID such as a driver’s license, a military ID or a passport with a photo, and in addition, you will both need to have a social security number with you. If you are unable to provide one or both forms of required ID, you will need to contact the Clerk of Circuit Courts by calling (813)276-8100 ext 4366.
Who Can Apply for a Tampa, FL Marriage License?
Any single person over the age of 18 may apply for a marriage license, providing that they have proper ID and can pay for their marriage license. If one or both parties wishing to marry are under the age of 18, but over the age of 16 a marriage license can be issued providing that there are certain circumstances that are in place. A written parental consent must be submitted with the names and signatures of both parents. If both parents are deceased and a guardian has given permission, a minor over 16 may marry. If the minor wishing to marry has been married previously, no parental permission is needed. If the couple that is planning to marry can prove they are parents or expectant parents of a child, parental permission may be waived. No minor under the age of 16 may be married in Hillsborough county unless a marriage license is issued by a county judge.
Are There Restrictions or Requirements Regarding a Marriage License in Tampa, Florida?
Each couple that wishes to marry has the option to attend a premarital preparation course offered through providers located throughout the community. Those couples that choose to attend these courses and complete them will not be required to observe the mandatory three-day waiting period set in place for Florida residents. In addition, they will receive a reduced fee for their marriage license. Contact the Hillsborough County Clerk of Circuit Courts for information regarding providers of the premarital preparation classes. All persons wishing to marry will need to read and be familiar with the Family Law Handbook. The Family Law Handbook outlines the legal responsibilities of those who marry. A regularly ordained minister, a notary public, a clerk of circuit courts, “friends or quakers”, judicial officers and elders of churches can preform a marriage ceremony in Tampa, Florida. If you wish to marry in the county courthouse, there will be a $30.00 fee. Marriage license costs are $93.50 for those couples that choose not to attend a pre-marriage preparation course and $61.00 for those that attend and complete a course.
Whom Do You Contact With Questions or Concerns About Obtaining a Marriage License in Tampa, FL?
You will need to be in contact with the Hillsborough County Clerk of Circuit Courts by either calling (813)276-8100 ext 4366, or by visiting 419 Pierce, room 140 in Tampa. You may research frequently asked questions, find useful links and other helpful information through the Tampa Marriage License.
CLICK THE LINK TO YOUR CITY BELOW TO APPLY FOR A MARRIAGE LICENSE
Search by State
To find more information about a business license in your state choose the state below.
This site is for informational purposes only and does not constitute legal, financial or tax advise. The information on this site should not be relied upon as an official source of information and should be independently verified.