Apply For A Utah Marriage License
We are planning on getting married in Utah. What do we need to do?
You and your fiance will need to get a marriage license from any County Clerk in the state. In order to get your marriage license, you will need to go together to the County Clerk’s office and file a marriage license application. Most counties in Utah also charge a license fee, which you will have to pay when you file your application. Once the application is processed, you will be issued your marriage license which is valid immediately.
What information will the marriage license application in Utah ask for?
The marriage license application is fairly straightforward and will just require that both you and your fiance give some basic information. This includes your full names, dates and places of birth, social security numbers, and the names and states of birth for both your parents. You will also need to present photo ID that confirms your name and date of birth. Some counties in Utah may ask for additional information, but generally what is listed above is all that is required.
Are there any special requirements if I was married before?
In Utah, you may be required to provide proof of your divorce if it occurred recently. This requirement varies from county to county. For example, in Salt Lake County you must provide a certified copy of your final divorce decree if your last marriage ended in divorce less than 30 days ago, while in Utah County you must do this if your divorce was finalized less than 60 days ago. Most counties will also ask you to provide information on the application about how many previous marriages you have been a party to and the date those marriages ended.
What do we have to pay for a Utah marriage license?
The cost of the license depends on what county in Utah you apply in. Some counties do not charge any fee for the actual license, but do charge fees for certified copies that you may need for your own records. In the counties that do charge a license fee, including Davis County and Salt Lake County, the license fee is usually around $50. This fee includes the marriage license and two complimentary certified copies for your own use that will be mailed to you.
Who can perform the wedding ceremony?
There are several types of people that Utah state law allows to solemnize your vows and legally marry you and your fiance. They include:
• Ordained Ministers
• Court Commissioners
• Native American Spiritual Advisors
• The Governor of Utah
• County Clerks
Normally, the person must hold their post in Utah in order to perform weddings in the state. Anyone who does not fit the above descriptions cannot legally marry you and your fiance.
CLICK THE LINK TO YOUR CITY BELOW TO APPLY FOR A MARRIAGE LICENSE
|Provo||Salt Lake City||Sandy|
|Taylorsville||West Jordan||West Valley City|
Search by State
To find more information about a business license in your state choose the state below.
This site is for informational purposes only and does not constitute legal, financial or tax advise. The information on this site should not be relied upon as an official source of information and should be independently verified.