Apply For A Wyoming Marriage License
Do we need a marriage license to get married in Wyoming?
Yes, you and your fiance will need to apply for a marriage license from a County Clerk’s office in order to legally marry in Wyoming. Marriage license are good throughout the state, so you can apply in any county and have the actual wedding anywhere you like, as long as it is within Wyoming.
What information and documents will we need to provide in Wyoming?
The application for a Wyoming marriage license is fairly straightforward. You should be prepared to provide your full names, addresses, social security numbers, father’s full name and place of birth, mother’s full name and place of birth, and the date that any previous marriage ended. Wyoming also requires that both parties present photo ID when applying for the license.
Do we need to apply for the marriage license together?
Most counties prefer that both applicants appear in the County Clerk’s office together to apply for the license, but Wyoming state law only requires one signature if you can provide a witness at the time who can stand in for the missing party and attest to the accuracy of the application. If only the bride or groom applies for the license, they must still provide a photocopy of their fiance’s photo ID before the license will be issued.
How old must we be to get married in Wyoming?
Both applicants must be at least 18 years old to get married without parental consent. Applicants that are at least 16 years old but less than 18 can be issued a marriage license if they provide notarized parental consent. Applicants under the age of 16 can only get married if a judge approves the application. If one of the applicants is a minor, you should contact your local County Clerk’s office to get more information about the requirements and application process for marriage licenses in these situations.
Is there a license fee to get a marriage license in Wyoming?
Yes, generally a marriage license costs $25 in Wyoming, but this may vary depending on the county where you apply. The license fee only covers the cost of the license, which will be returned to the county after your wedding. If you need additional copies for your own records or other purposes, these can be obtained for an additional $5 from the County Clerk’s office in Wyoming that issued the original license.
When do we need to use the license by?
All marriage licenses issued in Wyoming are good indefinitely, meaning that they have no expiration date.
CLICK THE LINK TO YOUR CITY BELOW TO APPLY FOR A MARRIAGE LICENSE
Search by State
To find more information about a business license in your state choose the state below.
This site is for informational purposes only and does not constitute legal, financial or tax advise. The information on this site should not be relied upon as an official source of information and should be independently verified.