Apply For An Oregon Marriage License

How do I get married in Oregon?

In addition to making all your wedding plans, you and your fiance will need to apply for a marriage license. A license can be obtained from any County Clerk’s office in Oregon. You and your fiance will need to file an application and pay the application fee before the license will be issued.

What is the general application process in Oregon?

Normally, both the bride and groom will need to appear together at the County Clerk’s office to file the Oregon marriage license application. The information the two of you will need to provide on the application is fairly straightforward, including:

• Full name
• Address
• Birthplace
• Date of birth and age
• Occupation
• Previous marital status
• Father’s and mother's full name and birthplace
• Name that you plan on taking after the marriage

Both you and your fiance will need to sign the application at the same time in front of the County Clerk. You may also be asked to provide ID that states your name and date of birth. Some counties offer the option of applying for your license by mail. Contact your local County Clerk for more information.

When is the marriage license valid?

Oregon has a three day waiting period, so although the license will be issued at the same time you file your application, the license will not be valid until three days afterwards. This waiting period can be waived by the County Clerk when you apply for your license for an additional fee that usually ranges from $15 to $20. Once the license is issued, it is valid for sixty days; after sixty days it will expire and you must apply for a new license if your marriage has not yet taken place.

How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Oregon?

The cost of the license depends on which county you apply in. For example, Washington and Multnomah Counties charges $60 while Morrow County charges $50. The cost of the license does not include the cost of the actual marriage ceremony if you choose to be married at the County Courthouse or the cost of additional certified marriage certificates. Your local County Clerk will have more information on these additional charges if you are interested.  


Beaverton Bend Eugene
Gresham Hillsboro Medford
Portland Salem Springfield

Search by State

To find more information about a business license in your state choose the state below.

Alabama Kentucky North Dakota
Alaska Louisiana Ohio
Arizona Maine Oklahoma
Arkansas Maryland Oregon
California Massachusetts Pennsylvania
Colorado Michigan Rhode Island
Connecticut Minnesota South Carolina
DC Mississippi South Dakota
Delaware Missouri Tennessee
Florida Montana Texas
Georgia Nebraska Utah
Hawaii Nevada Vermont
Idaho New Hampshire Virginia
Illinois New Jersey Washington
Indiana New Mexico West Virginia
Iowa New York Wisconsin
Kansas North Carolina Wyoming

This site is for informational purposes only and does not constitute legal, financial or tax advise. The information on this site should not be relied upon as an official source of information and should be independently verified.


Related Articles

Do You Like This Content?