Apply For A Virginia Marriage License
What are the requirements to be married in Virginia?
All couples are required to get a marriage license from the Clerk of the Circuit Court in any county in Virginia before their wedding in order to be legally married in Virginia. All applicants must be at least 18 years old to get married without parental consent, and neither of the applicants can be younger than 16 in order to be issued a marriage license. Once the license is issued, the marriage must be solemnized through a marriage ceremony for the marriage to be legally recognized.
Do I need to be a resident of Virginia to get a marriage license?
No, Virginia does not have a residency requirement, however only Virginia marriage licenses are good in Virginia. You can apply for your license in any county in Virginia and it will be good throughout the state.
What type of information will the marriage license application ask for?
The marriage application process in Virginia is quite simple. You and your fiance will both need to supply some basic information, such as:
• Full name
• Date of Birth
• Social security number
• Address • Father’s full name
• Mother’s full maiden name
You may also be asked to provide information such as your race and the highest level of education you completed. Some counties such as Loudon County allow you to complete this portion of the application online. However, both you and your fiance will need to appear together and in person at the Clerk of the Circuit Court’s office to show photo ID and sign the application in front of the Clerk. The application is not considered filed until both applicants have signed it and paid the license fee.
How much does a Virginia marriage license cost?
The cost of the license depends on which county you apply in, however under Virginia law the license fee cannot exceed $50. If you need additional certified copies of the license for your own purposes, these can be obtained for an additional fee either when you file your license application or after your marriage occurs through the office of the Clerk of the Circuit Court that issued the original license. Certified copies can also be obtained from the Virginia Division of Vital Records for a fee of $12. You will need to provide the full names of the bride and groom, the date and place of the marriage, and the name of the Circuit Court that issued the original license.
When should we apply for the marriage license?
Virginia does not have a waiting period so the license can be used as soon as it is issued. All marriage licenses issued in Virginia are valid for 60 days after issuance. Therefore, you should apply for your license no more than two months before your scheduled wedding.
CLICK THE LINK TO YOUR CITY BELOW TO APPLY FOR A MARRIAGE LICENSE
Search by State
To find more information about a business license in your state choose the state below.
This site is for informational purposes only and does not constitute legal, financial or tax advise. The information on this site should not be relied upon as an official source of information and should be independently verified.