Apply For A Washington Marriage License
How do I get a marriage license in Washington state?
Both you and your fiance will need to complete the marriage license application and sign it in front of the County Auditor at the County Records Office or a notary public. Some counties such as Clark County require that you apply in person, but other counties, including King County and Spokane County, do allow you to submit your application by mail if it has been notarized. Once the license is issued, there is a three day waiting period before it becomes valid.
Where should we apply for the marriage license?
Which county you file your marriage license application in Washington is entirely up to you. Licenses issued by any county in Washington are good throughout the state, so even if you get your marriage license from Yakima County, you are free to use it for your wedding in Seattle.
What information does a typical Washington marriage license application require?
For marriage license applications in Washington, both the bride and groom will need to provide information about themselves such as their full name, address, date of birth, place of birth, social security number, father’s full name and state of birth, and mother’s maiden name and state of birth. You will also need to provide valid picture ID that verifies your identity and age, such as a driver’s license or passport. Are there any special requirements in Washington if this is not my first marriage? Generally, no. Washington state law does not require you to provide proof of the dissolution of your previous marriage when applying for a marriage license. However it is your responsibility to make sure that your previous marriage has legally ended before you apply for a new marriage license. If you marry before the divorce is legally final, the legality of your new marriage may be brought into question.
Do Washington counties charge a fee for the marriage license?
The cost of a marriage license depends on which county you apply in. For example, Spokane County charges $55 while King County, Yakima County, and Clark County all charge $64 for the marriage license. Your local County Auditor will have more information on how much the license fee is and the acceptable methods of payment.
Does a Washington marriage license expire?
Yes, all marriage licenses issued in Washington expire sixty (60) days after the license is issued, which includes the three day waiting period. This means that you must use the license between three and sixty days from the time your application is granted. After these sixty days, the marriage license is no longer valid and you will need to repeat the application process if you still plan on marrying.
CLICK THE LINK TO YOUR CITY BELOW TO APPLY FOR A MARRIAGE LICENSE
Search by State
To find more information about a business license in your state choose the state below.
This site is for informational purposes only and does not constitute legal, financial or tax advise. The information on this site should not be relied upon as an official source of information and should be independently verified.