Apply For A Louisiana Marriage License
Do I need to apply for a marriage license if I am getting married in Louisiana?
Yes, in order to legally marry, you and your fiance must obtain a marriage license before you wed. Applications for marriage licenses should be filed with Clerk of Court of any parish in the state. The license is good throughout Louisiana so you do not need to apply in the parish where the wedding will actually take place.
What is the application process?
You or your fiance must appear in person at the Clerk of Court’s office to apply for the license. The license will be issued after you submit a completed application form, provide the necessary documents for both parties, and pay the applicable fees.
What documentation do we need to provide?
In Louisiana, state law requires that you and your fiance both submit a certified copy of your birth certificates. A certified copy is one issued by the state and it must have a raised seal in order to be accepted. Other personal ID such as a driver’s license or passport will not be accepted. If you or your fiance were born abroad and your original birth certificate is not in English, you must have it translated by that country’s consulate or a certified translator who must submit the final translation on official letterhead. A certified copy of the untranslated birth certificate must also be submitted with the translation. If either party was previously married and the marriage ended through divorce or death of the former spouse, then you must also submit certified copies of the final divorce decree or death certificate as well. If these documents are in a foreign language, then the certified copies must be submitted with a translation completed by that country’s consulate or a certified translator. No other translations will be accepted.
What other information will we need to provide?
The actual application may vary by parish, but generally both parties will need to provide:
- Full name
- Social security number
- Date of birth
- State and country of birth
- Number of previous marriages and the exact date when they legally ended In addition to this, depending on the parish you may also need to provide:
- Anticipated date of marriage
- Highest level of education completed
- Race - Father’s full name and state of birth
- Mother’s full maiden name and state of birth
When should we apply for the license? Once you file your application and the license is issued, there is a 72 hour waiting period before you and your fiance can actually marry. This means that you should apply for the license at least three days before the scheduled ceremony. Also, the license is only good for 30 days after it is issued, and this includes the three day waiting period. If you do not use it in that time, you will need to reapply for a new license and pay the license fee again.
CLICK THE LINK TO YOUR CITY BELOW TO APPLY FOR A MARRIAGE LICENSE
|Baton Rouge||Bossier City||Lafayette|
Search by State
To find more information about a business license in your state choose the state below.
This site is for informational purposes only and does not constitute legal, financial or tax advise. The information on this site should not be relied upon as an official source of information and should be independently verified.