Apply For A Sunrise Marriage License

Are You Planning to Marry in Sunrise, Florida?

You and your spouse to be must visit a Clerk of Courts location together, in person, to apply for your marriage license.  If you wish to have a clerk officiate your marriage, you may do that in Sunrise, for an additional fee.  The cost of a marriage license in Sunrise is $93.50 unless you and your future spouse have attended a premarital preparation course in which case your fees will be $61.00.  You will be required to present a certificate of completion at the time that you apply for your marriage license, and the courses may cost you fees, depending on the course provider that you choose.  You can find a list of course providers online on the website of Sunrise Marriage License

Are Minors Permitted to Marry in Sunrise, Florida?

Minors under the age of 18, but over the age of 16 are permitted to marry in Sunrise, providing that they have written parental consent to present to the Clerk of Courts at the time of application for a marriage license.  In addition, they will need to have a birth certificate, which bears the names of both parents, an original custody order if one parent has sole custody and a death certificate if one or both parents are no longer living.  Minors under the age of 16 will need to be in contact with the Clerk of Courts by calling (954)831-6525, extension 7842 for information on obtaining a marriage license.

Is There Any Waiting Period to Marry in Sunrise, FL?

If either the bride or the groom or both are Florida residents, they will need to observe a three-day waiting period; however, if both residents are non-residents or if they have both taken and completed a premarital preparation course, they are entitled to waive the three-day waiting period. 

How Long is a Marriage License Valid in Sunrise, FL?

A marriage license is valid for 60 days after it is issued.  If you choose not to marry within the 60 day window of time, your license will expire and you will need to reapply and re-pay for a new license.

Will You Be Required to Marry in Sunrise, Florida?

You do not have to marry in the city of Sunrise even though your marriage license is issued there.  You have the choice of marrying in any of the 67 counties in the state of Florida with your Sunrise marriage license.

Is There Other Important Information that You Should Know About Getting Married in Sunrise?

Every couple marrying in Sunrise, Florida will need to read and be familiar with the Family Law Handbook which is available on the Sunrise Marriage License.  The Family Law Handbook is published by the Family Law Section of the Florida Bar and is used to help couples to know what legal issues they may face if their marriage ends in divorce. 

Where Are The Clerk of Courts of Broward County Located?

The Clerk of Courts are located at the following addresses:

Main Broward County Courthouse
Marriage Division
201 S. E. 6th Street, Room 270
Fort Lauderdale, Florida

South Regional Courthouse
One-Stop Customer Service Division
3550 Hollywood Blvd., Room 160
Hollywood, Florida

North Regional Courthouse
One-Stop Customer Service Division
1600 W. Hillsboro Blvd., Room 160
Deerfield Beach, Florida

West Regional Courthouse
One-Stop Customer Service Division
100 N. Pine Island Road, Room 180
Plantation, Florida

One Stop Division - Rick Case Honda
(located in the Used Car Building)
15700 Rick Case Honda Way
Davie, Florida

What is the Contact Information for the Clerk of Courts in Sunrise, Florida?

The contact phone number for the Clerk of Courts is (954)831-6525, ext 7842 and you can visit any of the above locations to speak to the Clerk of Courts in person.  You can also find information online on the Sunrise Marriage License.


Boca Raton Boynton Beach Cape Coral
Clearwater Coral Springs Davie
Daytona Beach Deerfield Beach Delray Beach
Deltona Fort Lauderdale Gainesville
Hialeah Hollywood Jacksonville
Lakeland Largo Lauderhill
Margate Melbourne Miami Beach
Miami Miramar North Miami
Orlando Palm Bay Pembroke Pines
Pensacola Plantation Pompano Beach
Port St. Lucie Sarasota St. Petersburg
Sunrise Tallahassee Tamarac
Tampa West Palm Beach

Search by State

To find more information about a business license in your state choose the state below.

Alabama Kentucky North Dakota
Alaska Louisiana Ohio
Arizona Maine Oklahoma
Arkansas Maryland Oregon
California Massachusetts Pennsylvania
Colorado Michigan Rhode Island
Connecticut Minnesota South Carolina
DC Mississippi South Dakota
Delaware Missouri Tennessee
Florida Montana Texas
Georgia Nebraska Utah
Hawaii Nevada Vermont
Idaho New Hampshire Virginia
Illinois New Jersey Washington
Indiana New Mexico West Virginia
Iowa New York Wisconsin
Kansas North Carolina Wyoming

This site is for informational purposes only and does not constitute legal, financial or tax advise. The information on this site should not be relied upon as an official source of information and should be independently verified.


Related Articles

Do You Like This Content?