Are You Researching Information About Marriage Licenses in Davie, Florida?
When you choose to marry in the City of Davie, you and your intended spouse will need to apply in person together at one of the Broward County Courthouses between the hours of 8:00am and 4:30pm. If you choose to apply at the One Stop Division, they are open from 9:00am-5:30pm. You can find the addresses for the nearest location by checking online on the Broward County website. You will need to have a valid state issued driver’s license (or state issued ID, military ID, or a passport) and a social security number (or valid alien registration number) at the time of application.
Are Minors Permitted to Marry in Davie, Florida?
Extenuating circumstances must be present for a minor under the age of 18 to marry in Davie, Florida. Such circumstances include one or both minors being able to prove that they are expecting a child together or that they are already the parents of a child. A parental consent must be presented at the time of applying for a marriage license, as well as any custody proof, proof of age and a birth certificate. If one or both parents of the minor are deceased, a death certificate will need to be provided. Children under the age of 16 are not permitted to marry in Davie without a special procedures which will have to be explained by the Clerk of Courts. If you have any questions or need to speak to a clerk about minors applying for marriage licenses, contact the Clerk of Circuit Courts at (954)831-6525, ext 7842.
Is There a Waiting Period For Couples Marrying in Davie, FL?
There is a mandatory three day waiting period for Florida residents between the time their marriage license is issued and the time they actually marry, so plan your wedding ceremony accordingly. Couples that are not residents of Florida do not have to wait to get married. Please note that if only one of the people who plan to marry is a Florida resident, the couple is still required to wait for the entire three day period before marrying. You may marry at anytime between the third day after receiving your marriage license and 60 days after you receive your marriage license. After 60 days, if you have not married, your marriage license expires and you will have to apply for another marriage license.
What About Premarital Preparedness Classes?
If you and your spouse to be choose, you may enroll in a premarital preparation course and by doing so, you will be entitled to a discount on your marriage license fees, and you will not be required to observe the three day waiting period to marry after receiving your marriage license. There is a list of providers of pre-marriage readiness classes in the Davie area online on the Davie Marriage License website or call the Clerk of Courts at (954)831-6525 ext 7842.
What is the Cost of a Davie, Florida Marriage License?
The cost for a marriage license in Davie is $93.50, which can be paid by check, cash,, credit card. The One Stop Division only accepts cash, credit cards and money orders and does not accept checks. If you are able to prove that you and your fiancee attended and completed a premarital preparation course, your marriage license fees will be $61.00. Those couples that choose to have their marriage ceremony at the Clerk of Circuit’s Office will pay an additional $30.00.
What Is the Family Law Handbook?
The Family Law Handbook is a publication put out by the State of Florida intended to help couples realize the legal side of marriage and divorce. Each couple that is applying for a marriage license is required to read the Family Law Handbook. The Family Law Handbook can be downloaded for review online from the website of Broward County.
Where Can You Find More Information About Davie, Florida Marriage Licenses?
Broward County Courthouse
201 S.E. 6th Street, Room 270 | Fort Lauderdale, Florida 33301
Telephone: (954) 831-6525 Ext. 7842