Apply For A Sarsota Marriage License
I Am Planning to Marry in Sarasota, What Should I Know?
You will need to apply for your marriage license in person from the Clerk of Circuit Courts in either Sarasota or in Venice, Florida. Both parties that are wishing to marry will need be present at the same time to apply for their marriage license. There are convenient pre-registration kiosks to help cut down on the time that you will stand in line at the courthouse at both locations.
Filling out a preregistration application is not a marriage license application, and you may still need to provide signatures, identification, and other paperwork for an actual marriage license. If a minor under 18, but at least 16 is applying for a marriage license, they will need to have a notarized consent form signed by both parents, as well as proof of ID (photo ID, and a social security number). If either person wishing to marry is under the age of 16, they will need to be in contact with a County Court Judge to obtain a determination. Florida residents will be required to observe a three-day waiting period after receiving their marriage license to marry. If the couple is from outside the state of Florida, or if both parties have completed a premarital counseling course, the three-day waiting period will be waived.
The cost of a marriage license is $93.50 for couples that have opted out of the premarital preparation course, and $61.00 for those that have completed the courses. The premarital courses are offered throughout the community, and there is a list of providers online on the Sarasota County website. If a couple wishes, they may be married at the courthouse for an additional $30.00. All couples that are marrying in Sarasota, FL will have to read the Family Law Handbook, which is available for review on the County of Sarasota website.
Couples will need to sign an affidavit that they have read and are familiar with the contents of the Family Law Handbook. When a couple has received their marriage license, they will need to be married within 60 days or the marriage license will no longer be valid. Couples are not bound to marry in Sarasota even though their marriage license is issued in that county. They are free to marry in any of the 67 counties in the state of Florida.
Where Can I Apply for My Marriage License?
There are two locations for you to visit (in person) to apply for and be issued your marriage license, Monday through Frida from 8:30am-4:00pm:
The Venice Branch of the County of Sarasota Clerk of Circuit Courts
R.L. Anderson Administration Ctr
4000 South Tamiami Trail
Venice, FL 34293
The Sarasota Office of the Clerk of Circuit Courts
2000 Main Street
Sarasota, FL 34237
You can reach the Clerk of Courts of Sarasota County by phone at (941)861-7400.
CLICK THE LINK TO YOUR CITY BELOW TO APPLY FOR A MARRIAGE LICENSE
Search by State
To find more information about a business license in your state choose the state below.
This site is for informational purposes only and does not constitute legal, financial or tax advise. The information on this site should not be relied upon as an official source of information and should be independently verified.