Apply For A Pompano Beach Marriage License
I am Marrying in Pompano Beach, Florida. Where Can I Obtain a Marriage License?
If you choose to marry in Pompano Beach, you will need to contact the Broward County Clerk of Courts to apply for a marriage license. A marriage license will be issued to those that are over 18 with two forms of ID and payment. Those that are under the age of 18, but over 16 will, in addition to two forms of ID, need a birth certificate bearing both names of the minor’s parents, as well as any death certificates and custody orders if they are applicable. Acceptable identification includes a photo ID such as a military ID, a valid driver’s license and or a passport. A social security card or an alien registration card will be accepted as the second form of ID. If you or your future spouse is under the age of 16, you will need to contact the Clerk of Courts for further instructions on how to apply for a marriage license. They Clerk of Courts is reached by phone at (954)831-6525 ext 7842. When you and your intended spouse are ready to apply for your marriage license, you will need to visit the nearest Clerk of Courts together in person to apply. For a list of Clerk of Courts in Pompano Beach, see the Pompano Beach Marriage License.
Are There Special Requirements for Those Marrying in Pompano Beach, Florida?
• Every couple that marries in Pompano Beach will have to read the Family Law Handbook issued by the Family Law Section of the Florida Bar. This handbook reviews the legal side of marriage and divorce and is produced as a public service to help explain the legalities should your marriage end in divorce including children, assets, and costs of divorce.
• All Florida residents are required to observe a three-day waiting period for marriage after receiving their marriage license. This three-day waiting period can be waived if both the bride and the groom have completed a premarital preparation course in the community. Couples that are not Florida residents do not have to adhere to this waiting period and are able to marry as soon as they receive their marriage license.
• You will have 60 days to marry after receiving your marriage license. If you are not married within those 60 days, your marriage license will expire and you will need to re-apply for a new marriage license.
• You are free to marry in any of Florida’s 67 counties once you have received your marriage license.
• All fees for marriage licenses are to be paid upon application and are non-refundable. The cost of a marriage license is dependent on whether you and your spouse-to-be have completed a pre-marriage preparedness course. If you choose to attend the class, your cost for a marriage license will be $61.00. If you do not complete a marriage course, your cost is $93.50. Marriage license fees can be paid by credit card, by money order, by check (except at the One Stop Division) or by cashier’s check.
• You can find a list of providers for the premarital preparation courses by looking online at the website of Broward County. You may have to pay fees for these courses, depending on where you take them, and the discounts and being able to avoid the waiting period will be dependent on both the bride and the groom completing the course.
• If you have any questions regarding marriage licenses, you can contact the Clerk of Courts of Broward County by calling (954)831-6525 extension 7842.
CLICK THE LINK TO YOUR CITY BELOW TO APPLY FOR A MARRIAGE LICENSE
Search by State
To find more information about a business license in your state choose the state below.
This site is for informational purposes only and does not constitute legal, financial or tax advise. The information on this site should not be relied upon as an official source of information and should be independently verified.