Apply For A Plantation Marriage License

Are You Looking for Information About Obtaining a Marriage License in Plantation, Florida?

Anyone over the age of 18 may visit the Clerk of Courts in any of their five locations to apply for a marriage license.  It does not matter the courthouse that you visit, but you must apply together with your intended spouse and you must have two forms of ID with you at the time that you apply.  You will need a social security card or an alien registration card as well as a photo ID such as a military ID, a valid driver’s license, a state issued ID card or a passport. 

What if You or Your Intended Spouse is Not Eighteen at the Time of Applying for a Marriage License in Plantation?

Anyone wishing to marry under the age of 18, but over the age of 16 must have written consent by both parents, and they will need to provide their birth certificate which bears both parents names.  If one parent has sole custody, an original custody order will need to be submitted and if one or both parents is deceased, the death certificate will need to be brought to the Broward County Clerk of Courts.  If one or both parties wishing to marry are under the age of 16, the Clerk of Courts will need to be contacted for instructions.  They can be reached by calling (954)831-6525 extension 7842. 

Where Are the Broward County Clerk of Courts Located?

The Clerk of Courts can be found at the following locations, Monday through Friday between 8:00am and 4:30pm, except for the One Stop Division which is opened Monday through Friday from 9:00am and 5:30pm. 

One Stop Division - Rick Case Honda
(located in the Used Car Building)
15700 Rick Case Honda Way
Davie, Florida

South Regional Courthouse
One-Stop Customer Service Division
3550 Hollywood Blvd., Room 160
Hollywood, Florida

West Regional Courthouse
One-Stop Customer Service Division
100 N. Pine Island Road, Room 180
Plantation, Florida

North Regional Courthouse
One-Stop Customer Service Division
1600 W. Hillsboro Blvd., Room 160
Deerfield Beach, Florida

Main Broward County Courthouse
Marriage Division
201 S. E. 6th Street, Room 270
Fort Lauderdale, Florida


What is the Cost of a Marriage License in Plantation, Florida?

The cost of a marriage license depends on if the couple intending to marry has completed a premarital preparation class.  The Broward County Clerk of Courts offers a discount for those who choose to attend and complete a marriage preparedness course.  The cost without a class is $93.50 and is $61.00 with a certificate of completion.  You can find providers of the marriage preparation courses online on the Plantation Marriage License.  When you pay for your marriage license, you will either pay by cash, credit card or money order.  All location excluding the One Stop Division will also accept checks.  All marriage license fees are non-refundable.

Are There Other Requirements for Getting Married in Plantation, FL?

When you receive your marriage license, if you or your spouse-to-be are residents of Florida, you will need to observe a mandatory three-day waiting period before marrying.  If you are not residents, or if you have both completed a marriage preparation course, the three-day waiting period is waived.  Those that marry in Plantation will also be required to read a Family Law Handbook, available online from the Plantation Marriage License.  Once you have received your marriage license, you are welcome to marry in any county in Florida, and are not confined to the county that issues your marriage license.  If you wish to marry at the Clerk of Courts, you will incur an additional $30.00 fee for a marriage conducted by one of the clerks.  Your marriage license is valid for 60 days once issued.  If you choose not to marry in that 60 day window, your marriage license will expire and you will have to reapply and pay again as marriage license fees are non-refundable. 

Do You Wish to Contact the Clerk of Courts of Broward County In Plantation, Florida?

You may contact the Clerk of Courts by calling (954)831-6525 extension 7842 or by visiting any of the above addresses.  For simple questions, you may want to research on the Broward County Marriage License.


Boca Raton Boynton Beach Cape Coral
Clearwater Coral Springs Davie
Daytona Beach Deerfield Beach Delray Beach
Deltona Fort Lauderdale Gainesville
Hialeah Hollywood Jacksonville
Lakeland Largo Lauderhill
Margate Melbourne Miami Beach
Miami Miramar North Miami
Orlando Palm Bay Pembroke Pines
Pensacola Plantation Pompano Beach
Port St. Lucie Sarasota St. Petersburg
Sunrise Tallahassee Tamarac
Tampa West Palm Beach

Search by State

To find more information about a business license in your state choose the state below.

Alabama Kentucky North Dakota
Alaska Louisiana Ohio
Arizona Maine Oklahoma
Arkansas Maryland Oregon
California Massachusetts Pennsylvania
Colorado Michigan Rhode Island
Connecticut Minnesota South Carolina
DC Mississippi South Dakota
Delaware Missouri Tennessee
Florida Montana Texas
Georgia Nebraska Utah
Hawaii Nevada Vermont
Idaho New Hampshire Virginia
Illinois New Jersey Washington
Indiana New Mexico West Virginia
Iowa New York Wisconsin
Kansas North Carolina Wyoming

This site is for informational purposes only and does not constitute legal, financial or tax advise. The information on this site should not be relied upon as an official source of information and should be independently verified.


Related Articles

Do You Like This Content?