Apply For A Hollywood Marriage License
Are You Interested in Information About Marriage Licenses in Hollywood, Florida?
If you are planning a marriage in Hollywood, you will need to visit any of the five locations of the Clerk of Courts of Broward County to apply in person for a marriage license. If you and your intended spouse are both over the age of 18, you will simply come together to the Clerk of Courts location nearest to you, bring two forms of ID and all the applicable fees for a marriage license. The acceptable ID for a marriage license in Hollywood are a photo ID such as a driver’s license, a state issued ID card, a military ID or a passport. The secondary ID can be a social security card or an alien registration card. If you do not have either of these IDs, contact the Clerk of Courts to discuss the other acceptable types of identification that you may be able to use. They can be reached via telephone at (954)831-6525 extension 7842.
What About Those Under Eighteen Wishing to be Married in Hollywood, FL?
Any minor under 18 wishing to marry will need to have written parental consent and will need to be able to present a birth certificate bearing the names of both parents, any death certificates for deceased parents and/or any original custody orders for parents who have sole custody of the minor. If the minor is under 16, he or she will need to contact the Clerk of Courts to discuss conditions regarding applying for a marriage license.
Do You Plan to Marry in Another Town or County Other than Hollywood, Florida?
Once you have received your marriage license, you are free to marry in any county in Florida and are not bound to the county that issues your marriage license.
What About Waiting Periods for Marrying?
The residents of Florida who wish to marry will be required to observe a three-day waiting period. Couples who opt to take a premarital preparation course are not required to wait for three days to marry, nor are couples that are from outside the state of Florida.
What Are Premarital Preparation Courses?
Premarital preparation courses are courses offered throughout the community to help prepare for the adjustment couples face during marriage. They are not required of any couple planning to marry, but are recommended and completing the course will result in a discount for your marriage license costs, as well as absolving couples of the three-day wait period. There is a list of providers of premarital preparation courses online on the Broward County website. If you have any questions about premarital preparation courses, contact the Clerk of Courts at (954)831-6525 ext 7842.
How Much Does a Marriage License Cost?
A marriage license is $93.50 for couples that have not attended a marriage preparedness course, and $61.00 for those that have. Marriage license costs are non-refundable and will need to be paid at the time of application. The methods of payment that are accepted include credit card, cash, money order and at some locations, check. If you apply for your marriage license at the One Stop Division, you will not be able to pay by check.
Are There Other Requirements for a Hollywood, FL Marriage License?
Any couple marrying in Hollywood, Florida will need to be familiar with the Family Law Handbook by reading it online on the County of Broward website, or by requesting one in person at any location of the Clerk of Courts location in the Hollywood area. Couples marrying in Hollywood will need to use their marriage license within 60 days after it is issued or it will expire. If your marriage license expires, you will need to reapply and repay for a new license. Contact the Clerk of Courts with any questions regarding other requirements regarding applying for a marriage license. They can be contacted by calling (954)831-6525 ext 7842. You may visit any Clerk of Courts locations for more information or you may want to browse the County of Broward websitefor helpful links and information about obtaining a marriage license in Hollywood, Florida..
CLICK THE LINK TO YOUR CITY BELOW TO APPLY FOR A MARRIAGE LICENSE
Search by State
To find more information about a business license in your state choose the state below.
This site is for informational purposes only and does not constitute legal, financial or tax advise. The information on this site should not be relied upon as an official source of information and should be independently verified.