Apply For An Alhambra Marriage License

To get a marriage license in Alhambra, California, where do we need to go?

Marriage licenses in Los Angeles County are issued by the Registrar-Recorder/County Clerk’s office. The Registrar-Recorder/County Clerk’s office headquarters are based in Norwalk, California, but there are several branch offices throughout Los Angeles County where you can also go. The closest branch offices to Alhambra are the three locations in Los Angeles:

11701 S. La Cienega Blvd, 6th Floor (LAX Courthouse)
(310) 727-6142

4716 East Cesar Chavez Avenue
(323) 260-2991

7807 S. Compton Avenue
(323) 586-6192

You and the person that you are marrying must appear together during office hours, which are 8:30 a.m. to 3 p.m. Monday through Friday, to request a marriage license. You will be able to receive your marriage license on the same day. Processing time is usually about an hour, depending upon how busy the office is on the day that you go.

Complete information on Los Angeles County requirements for marriage licenses is online at You will also find a downloadable application and the online application at this site.

What documents will we need to present when we apply for our marriage license?

You and the person that you are marrying will need to present documents that provide proof of your identity and proof of your age, such as a current driver’s license or a passport. You must be at least 18 years old and single to be legally married in California.

Will we need to get blood tests before we apply for our marriage license in Alhambra?

No, you will not need to have blood tests because neither blood testing nor health certificates are required in order to apply for a marriage license in the state of California.

Will we need to be residents of Alhambra before we apply for our marriage license?  

No, you do need to be residents of Alhambra in order to apply for a marriage license. Even residents of other cities and states can apply for a license to be married in Alhambra. Your marriage license will be valid anywhere in the state of California.

How long is a Los Angeles County marriage license valid?

A marriage license issued in Los Angeles County is valid for 90 days.

What is the required fee for a marriage license in Alhambra, California?

The required fee for a regular marriage license is $90. The required fee for a confidential marriage license is $85. You can pay with cash, check, money order, or credit or debit card. Checks should be made payable to the Registrar-Recorder County Clerk (or RRCC).

Can we choose the person who performs our marriage?

You are able to choose the person who performs your marriage, but you must choose a person that is legally authorized to perform marriage ceremonies in the state of California.

Who is legally authorized to perform marriages in California?

There are many offices that qualify a person to perform marriages. Priests, rabbis, and ministers of any denomination are legally authorized to perform marriages as long as they are at least 18 years of age. Any judge, active or retired, and many other judicial officers may perform marriages. Current city mayors are also authorized.

Can some other person be authorized to perform just our marriage?

Through the Deputy Commissioner for a Day program in Los Angeles County, a person who is not authorized to perform marriages can become authorized. There is a $75 fee for this process.

For more information on the Deputy Commissioner for a Day program, see

Can we ask for a civil ceremony?

Yes, but because the Registrar-Recorder/County Clerk’s office cannot guarantee that you will receive your marriage license the same day that you request it, you must receive your license before the day of your civil ceremony. Civil ceremonies are performed at branch offices in Los Angeles, Beverly Hills, Lancaster, Norwalk, and Van Nuys. You are responsible for providing your own witnesses. There must be at least one witness for a regular marriage license. No witnesses are required for those marrying with a confidential marriage license.

There is also a civil ceremony volunteer program at the Norwalk office, where there is a wedding chapel. For more information, see

Where do we go for our Alhambra marriage certificate?

Marriage certificates, like marriage licenses, are issued through the Los Angeles Registrar-Recorder/County Clerk’s office.


Alameda Alhambra Anaheim
Antioch Apple Valley Arcadia
Bakersfield Baldwin Park Bellflower
Berkeley Buena Park Burbank
Camarillo Carlsbad Carson
Cerritos Chico Chino
Chino Hills Chula Vista Citrus Heights
Clovis Compton Concord
Corona Costa Mesa Cupertino
Daly City Davis Diamond Bar
Downey El Cajon El Monte
Encinitas Escondido Fairfield
Folsom Fontana Fountain Valley
Fremont Fresno Fullerton
Garden Grove Gardena Glendale
Hawthorne Hayward Hemet
Hesperia Huntington Beach Huntington Park
Inglewood Irvine La Habra
La Mesa Laguna Niguel Lake Forest
Lakewood Lancaster Livermore
Lodi Long Beach Los Angeles
Lynwood Merced Milpitas
Mission Viejo Modesto Montebello
Monterey Park Moreno Valley Mountain View
Napa National City Newport Beach
Norwalk Oakland Oceanside
Ontario Orange Oxnard
Palmdale Palo Alto Paramount
Pasadena Petaluma Pico Rivera
Pittsburg Pleasanton Pomona
Rancho Cucamonga Redding Redlands
Redondo Beach Redwood City Rialto
Richmond Riverside Rosemead
Roseville Sacramento Salinas
San Bernardino San Buenaventura (Ventura) San Diego
San Francisco San Jose San Leandro
San Marcos San Mateo San Rafael
Santa Ana Santa Barbara Santa Clara
Santa Clarita Santa Cruz Santa Maria
Santa Monica Santa Rosa Santee
Simi Valley South Gate South San Francisco
Stockton Sunnyvale Temecula
Thousand Oaks Torrance Tracy
Turlock Tustin Union City
Upland Vacaville Vallejo
Victorville Visalia Vista
Walnut Creek West Covina Westminster
Whittier Yorba Linda

Search by State

To find more information about a business license in your state choose the state below.

Alabama Kentucky North Dakota
Alaska Louisiana Ohio
Arizona Maine Oklahoma
Arkansas Maryland Oregon
California Massachusetts Pennsylvania
Colorado Michigan Rhode Island
Connecticut Minnesota South Carolina
DC Mississippi South Dakota
Delaware Missouri Tennessee
Florida Montana Texas
Georgia Nebraska Utah
Hawaii Nevada Vermont
Idaho New Hampshire Virginia
Illinois New Jersey Washington
Indiana New Mexico West Virginia
Iowa New York Wisconsin
Kansas North Carolina Wyoming

This site is for informational purposes only and does not constitute legal, financial or tax advise. The information on this site should not be relied upon as an official source of information and should be independently verified.


Related Articles

Do You Like This Content?