Apply For A Business License San Antonio, Texas
Is a business license required to do business in San Antonio, Texas?
Certain business licenses are required to do business in Texas, but San Antonio does not have a separate general business license. You can find your applicable State of Texas business licenses by visiting the State of Texas website: San Antonio Licenses.
Do I need to obtain a certificate of occupancy for my business in San Antonio?
Before operating a business location in San Antonio you will need a certificate of occupancy in San Antonio. The application form for a certificate of occupancy can be found at this link: San Antonio Certificate of Occupancy.
The application for a certificate of occupancy will ask or the type of business that you plan to operate at the location, such as if it is primarily for alcohol sales, for a bed and breakfast, an assisted living facility, or another type of home, such as a childcare or a school. You will also need to specify if food or alcohol will be served or if there will be live entertainment. You will need to provide your business name, address, and primary contact information, as well as the square footage, except for restrooms and kitchen and storage areas. Depending on the type of business you’ll operate, there may be other forms and affidavits to complete. After the form is submitted, an inspection will be required to make sure the location is in compliance with codes and safety laws.
For more information and question, please contact the City of San Antonio at (210) 207-1111, option 0.
How much does a Certificate of Occupancy cost?
A New Application will be $200, but an application to change the business name is only $50.
Where do I apply for a San Antonio Certificate of Occupancy?
You must take your completed application and the application fee to the city offices at the Cliff Morton Development and Business Services Center located at 1901 South Alamo, San Antonio, Texas 78204.
Are there any specialty licenses required in the City of San Antonio or from Bexar County?
There are certain specialty licenses that may be needed depending on the business you are operating. For example, a restaurant, catering business, or liquor store will likely require a Beer and Wine Permit or other Liquor License. These are obtained through Bexar County, where San Antonio is located. The Bexar County Tax Assessor-Collector acts as an agent of the State of Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission to issue a County Liquor License. The application can be obtained from the State of Texas ABC website. http://www.tabc.state.tx.us/forms/licensing_renewal.asp
The application can be submitted in person at the County Assessor’s office at 233 North Pecos-La Trinidad, Suite 170, San Antonio, Texas, 78207. The different types of Liquor licenses available are: Beer & Wine Permit, Mixed Beverage Permit, Beverage Cartage Permit, Mixed Beverage Late Hours Permit, and Caterer’s Permit.
How much does a Liquor License cost?
Depending on the type of business you operate and the types of alcohol you will sell, the permit costs will vary. There are County fees, as well as State fees and surcharges. For example, fees vary if you are selling alcohol at retail or wholesale, whether you are operating a pub or bar, or whether alcohol sales are incidental to your business, such as a restaurant, or you are operating a brewery. The fees for the State TABC are paid to the State of Texas and the County Fees are paid to the County of Bexar. The County fees are normally half of the State Fee.
Click the link to your city below to apply for a business license
Search by State
To find more information about a business license in your state choose the state below.
This site is for informational purposes only and does not constitute legal, financial or tax advise. The information on this site should not be relied upon as an official source of information and should be independently verified.