Do all businesses in Nebraska need to have
a local city/county license?
Most cities in Nebraska do require you to apply for
a local business license while conducting business
within the city or county limits. This can easily
be applied for by visiting your city or county website
online or in person.
THE LINK TO YOUR CITY BELOW TO APPLY FOR A BUSINESS
Residents in various cities that conduct business
in their homes may also need to obtain a home occupational
What types of questions may be asked while
applying for a city business license?
You can expect to find some of the following
questions while applying for a city/county license:
Name of your business
Resale tax #
Number of employees
Owners names, addresses and email addresses
State ID #, Social Security Number, or Federal ID
Detailed description of your business
Do I need to register my business with the
Most businesses in Nebraska must first register and
receive a Nebraska State Identification Number if
you will be conducting retail sales or if you will
have employees. This can be done by filing a Nebraska
Tax Application form through the Nebraska Department
of Revenue. If you are going to operate as a corporation, an LLC,
or alimited partnership you will also need to register
your business entity with the Nebraska Secretary of
State. For more information visit http://www.nebraska.gov.
What types of licenses are required by the
State of Nebraska?
Every person doing business involving retail sales
or taxable services must obtain a Sales Tax permit.
This is obtained through the Nebraska Tax Application
form. The Nebraska Tax Application also is used to
register for things like corporate income tax, sales
tax, income tax withholding, and other miscellaneous
taxes. For additional help or guides regarding business
taxing, you can search online at www.revenue.ne.gov
or call 1-800-742-7474.
Are there separate specialty licensing?
Some businesses may require additional licensing or permits at the Federal, state or local levels. This may include specialty or occupational Licensing, such as tobacco sales. There also might be zoning permits or licensing needed to operate. Contact the proper city department to find out what may be needed.
Are there fees to apply?
Depending on the type of license you are applying for, the state license can be any where from $10 to $100. Other fees for specialty or occupational licenses will vary.
Disclaimer: This site is for informational purposes only and does not constitute legal, financial or tax advise. The information on this site should not be relied upon as an official source of information and should be independently verified.