Does my business need a license to operate in Delaware?
Yes! Every business in Delaware must apply for a state business license from the Department of Finance. Delaware now has an online system called One Stop where you can apply for all your business licensing needs online. Once you complete the online application, you will receive a temporary business license that is valid until the state sends you your official license in the mail.
|CLICK THE LINKS TO YOUR CITY BELOW TO APPLY FOR A BUSINESS LICENSE
Do I need to apply for any other licenses?
Most cities and municipalities in Delaware require that you also register your business with them if you are operating within city limits. All businesses should check their city's website to see if they need to obtain a local business license as well.
How much does a business license cost?
Fees vary depending on the type and location of the business. State licenses generally cost $75 annually for the first location and then $25 for additional locations. However, if your industry is regulated by the state, additional fees and permits are often required. Delaware also requires monthly or quarterly payments based on gross receipts in addition to the annual licensing fee.
Similarly, the cost of city business licenses depends on local regulations, but most require annual registration and payment. The cost of the license is usually based on the nature of the business and the industry it operates in. Local government websites are an excellent source of information on what the licensing fees cost for your industry. Find out what fees are required by clicking on your city's name above.
What do I need to apply for a license?
Different licenses require different information, but generally you will need to provide:
Contact person and their contact information
Type of business (sole proprietorship, partnership, corporation, or LLC)
Name of the business
The mailing and physical address of the business
Names, home addresses, and Social Security numbers for all the owners and partners in the business
Description of the main purpose of the business
Federal Employer Identification Number or Social Security number
Date of the start of operations
Type of license that you are applying for
To complete the application for a state business license in Delaware, you will also need a copy of your Workers Compensation Insurance Policy as well as information on the number of employees you have and their payroll information for the last five years, if applicable.
Disclaimer: This site is for informational purposes only and does not constitute legal, financial or tax advise. The information on this site should not be relied upon as an official source of information and should be independently verified.