Apply For A Business License in Alaska - AK
There has never been a better time to get a degree. Even top Universities across the U.S. have joined the movement that’s allowing millions to get an education online. Business degrees are the perfect stepping stone for building a career, increasing earning potential, and ultimately growing your business.
Find out how to improve your knowledge and increase your earning potential by getting an online business degree. Click here to find the program that’s right for you.
Is a license required to do business in Alaska?
Of course! A license is required for all businesses doing business in Alaska, whether it is a corporation, partnership, limited liability company, or sole proprietorship, even if you are working from home. Licenses are available for one or two year periods, and must be renewed by the end of their final year. In addition to the state business license, most of Alaska’s major cities require that you obtain a local business license or register your business with the city as well.
What is the difference between a state and local business license?
While all businesses in Alaska must have a state business license, not all businesses will need a local business license. Whether your business needs a local license depends on the location and type of business you have. For example, only certain businesses are required to obtain a local business license in Anchorage, while all businesses located within the city limits of Fairbanks must have a local license to operate. In Juneau, most businesses do not require a license, but they still must register with the city for tax purposes.
Where can I apply for a business license?
The Department of Community and Economic Development has the Alaska business license application available online to download and print though at this time it cannot be submitted online. When additional licenses are required by the city, applications are usually available on the city’s business website. You can find out more information by clicking on your city’s link above.
How much does it cost?
Fees vary depending on what licenses you need. A general state business license costs $50 to $100 a year, while most city business licenses cost $25 to $100 a year. If your business operates in an industry that is regulated by the city, such as entertainment venues or tobacco vending, the specialized licenses will usually cost $100 to $300 a year.
What type of questions will be asked on the application?
Depending on the type of application you are applying for, you will most likely be asked:
When renewing your business license, you may also be asked to provide information about your gross receipts from the previous year. You can usually pay the applicable fees by check or credit card, which must be paid at the time you file the application.
Click the link to your city below to apply for a business license
Search by State
To find more information about a business license in your state choose the state below.
This site is for informational purposes only and does not constitute legal, financial or tax advise. The information on this site should not be relied upon as an official source of information and should be independently verified.