Apply For A Dallas Marriage License

Where do couples in Dallas, Texas need to go to apply for a marriage license?

To apply for a marriage license, couples in Dallas need to go together in person to the County Clerk’s office. Marriage licenses issued by any Texas County Clerk’s office will be valid in any other county in Texas. The Dallas County Clerk’s office is located on the second floor of the Records Building at 509 Main Street in Dallas. The office can be contacted by phone at (214) 653-7099. The Dallas County Clerk’s office hours are 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m., Monday through Friday.

Is there an online marriage license application available in Dallas County?

Yes. Couples can access the online marriage application for Dallas County on the Dallas County Clerk’s official website at Dallas Marriage License.

What are the requirements that couples need to meet to obtain a marriage license in Dallas, Texas?

To be issued a marriage license, both the bride and the groom must be at least 18 years old and unmarried when they submit the marriage license application. They will need to present a valid form of identification such as a passport or a driver’s license at the Dallas County Clerk’s office and give their social security numbers. Minors cannot be issued a marriage license without parental consent. Blood tests are not required.

Is there a waiting period to obtain a marriage license if either the bride or the groom has been divorced recently?

If either person has been divorced previously, the divorce must be final for at least 30 days before a new marriage license can be issued. He or she may apply to waive this waiting period. The Dallas County Clerk’s office can provide more information about these requirements.

What is the fee that couples must pay to obtain a marriage license in Dallas, Texas?

Couples must pay a $71.00 fee to be issued a marriage licenses in Dallas, Texas. Couples who complete a state certified marriage preparation class are eligible for a reduced fee.

What is the waiting period before couples can be married with a Dallas County marriage license?

The waiting period is 72 hours after the marriage license has been issued. The marriage license does not become valid until after this waiting period has passed. The waiting period is waived if the couple has completed a state certified marriage preparation class or if either person to be married is active military or currently works for the United States Department of Defense.

How long is the marriage license valid after it is issued by the Dallas County Clerk’s office?

The marriage license is valid for 30 days after it is issued by the Dallas County Clerk’s office.

Who can perform wedding ceremonies for couples in Dallas, Texas?  

Rabbis, ministers, priests, and judges are authorized to perform marriage ceremonies in the state of Texas.

Where can couples in Dallas, Texas go to order a marriage certificate?

Couples may order their marriage certificate through the Dallas County Clerk’s office. Couples can learn more about ordering their marriage certificate by contacting the Dallas County Clerk’s office. More information is available on Dallas Marriage License.


Abilene Amarillo Arlington
Austin Baytown Beaumont
Brownsville Bryan Carrollton
College Station Corpus Christi Dallas
Denton El Paso Flower Mound
Fort Worth Galveston Garland
Grand Prairie Harlingen Houston
Irving Killeen Lewisville
Longview Lubbock McAllen
McKinney Mesquite Midland
Missouri City North Richland Hills Pasadena
Plano Port Arthur Richardson
Round Rock San Angelo San Antonio
Sugar Land Temple Tyler
Waco Wichita Falls

Search by State

To find more information about a business license in your state choose the state below.

Alabama Kentucky North Dakota
Alaska Louisiana Ohio
Arizona Maine Oklahoma
Arkansas Maryland Oregon
California Massachusetts Pennsylvania
Colorado Michigan Rhode Island
Connecticut Minnesota South Carolina
DC Mississippi South Dakota
Delaware Missouri Tennessee
Florida Montana Texas
Georgia Nebraska Utah
Hawaii Nevada Vermont
Idaho New Hampshire Virginia
Illinois New Jersey Washington
Indiana New Mexico West Virginia
Iowa New York Wisconsin
Kansas North Carolina Wyoming

This site is for informational purposes only and does not constitute legal, financial or tax advise. The information on this site should not be relied upon as an official source of information and should be independently verified.


Related Articles

Do You Like This Content?