Apply For A Lawrence Marriage License
How can we apply for our marriage license in Lawrence?
The City of Lawrence, City Clerk’s Office requires that both you and your spouse to be appear together at their office. The office is located at 200 Common Street, Lawrence, MA 01840. The marriage license (also known as the marriage certificate) application is not available online and can only be obtained at the Lawrence City Clerk Office. The application must be completed while both of you are at the City Clerk’s Office. Along with applying, you will also have to show identification by way of a DMV photo I.D. or driver’s license. If you do not have these forms of identification, then you may present a military card or passport or a birth certificate. The birth certificate may only be used if you have some type of picture I.D. To show with it.
What information will we need for the Lawrence marriage license application?
You will need: names (yours and your parents’), addresses (mailing and physical), social security numbers, who will solemnize the marriage and what date it will happen, birthplaces (yours and your parents’), birthdates (you and your fiancé’s, parents’ are not required), your genders, disclose if there were any previous marriages (if so how many) or previous Domestic Partnerships, certification that you and your fiancé are not closely related by blood, signatures and dates.
What if we cannot appear in person for our Lawrence marriage certificate?
If one or both of you cannot come in person to apply for your marriage license, then you will need to contact a representative at the Lawrence City Clerk’s Office to make arrangements. There are a variety of reasons that are acceptable as to why you cannot appear in person. Some of these reasons are, but are not limited to: incarceration, hospitalization, extreme illness, military duty, etc. Please contact the Lawrence City Clerk at (978) 620-3000.
What fee will we have to pay for our marriage license in Lawrence?
The mandatory fee is $15, this is due at the same time you apply for your marriage certificate. Cash is not accepted as a form of payment. Check, Mastercard and Visa are payment methods that will be accepted.
Is there anything else we should know to get our Lawrence marriage certificate?
Yes. It is important to apply for your marriage license at least 4 days before your wedding. The Massachusetts State Law does not allow for a marriage license to be issued until a 3 day wait time, however, if you come later in the day or apply before a weekend or a holiday, you’ll need to make sure that there is a 4 day buffer there.
Only a District Court of Massachusetts can waive this 3 day time period, there will be at least a $200 fee to surpass this wait time. Also, if your wedding ceremony does not happen within 60 days from the date on the marriage certificate, then it will expire and you will have to repeat the process over and pay the fee again.
Who can we contact for more help?
Please contact the City of Lawrence City Clerk directly for any questions or concerns regarding obtaining your marriage certificate, call them at (978) 620-3000. You may also visit the Lawrence Marrriage License online. The address is located at 200 Common Street, Lawrence, MA 01840.
CLICK THE LINK TO YOUR CITY BELOW TO APPLY FOR A MARRIAGE LICENSE
Search by State
To find more information about a business license in your state choose the state below.
This site is for informational purposes only and does not constitute legal, financial or tax advise. The information on this site should not be relied upon as an official source of information and should be independently verified.