Apply For A Cambridge Marriage License

How can we apply for our Cambridge marriage license or Massachusetts Marriage Certificate?

You and your spouse-to-be are absolutely required to go into the Cambridge City Clerk’s Office together to apply for your marriage license or known to the State of Massachusetts as the Marriage Certificate. For some special cases, the City of Cambridge may allow an application via the mail, however, this is not common and you will need to contact the City of Cambridge regarding those details. Please call them at (617) 349-4260. When you and your fiancé make the journey to the City Clerk’s Office, please have the following essential details with you:

  • Your full legal names

  • Addresses, both residential and mailing

  • Date of birth

  • Your occupations

  • Number of previous marriages and the date they officially ended (whether by death or divorce) existence of Civil-Union or state created Domestic Partnership, whether it is present or dissolved

  • Social security numbers

  • Birthplaces

  • Names and birthplaces of parents, please include all  

  • Gender

  • Disclosure if applicants are closely related by blood, such as grandparents or siblings

  • Signatures and dates

  • At this time, the Marriage Certificate Form is available online with the Cambridge Marriage License. This will assist you and your fiancé with saving time when going to the office as you can print the form ahead of time and complete it (except for the signatures) so that you won’t have to take the time when you are actually there. Once you apply, you cannot use the marriage license until 3 days time.

    What if our wedding ceremony will be in Cambridge, MA but we are not residents?

    That is perfectly fine! In fact, as long as you plan to be wed anywhere in the State of Massachusetts, you can apply at any City Clerk’s Office in the entire state. If you will be entering into a Domestic Partnership you can obtain those details on the Cambridge Marriage License website.  If your wedding will occur outside of the State of Massachusetts, please contact that state with questions regarding their policies for marriage ceremonies and marriage licenses.

    What is the age requirement for a marriage license or Marriage Certificate in Cambridge, MA?

    The required age, mandated by Massachusetts state laws is that both of you be at least 18 years of age. If one of you or both of you are under 18 years, minors 15-17 years old must receive permission from their legal guardians and sometimes permission from a juvenile court as well.

    What is the fee we’ll have to pay to get our Cambridge, Massachusetts marriage license?

    To receive your Marriage Certificate through the City of Cambridge City Clerk’s Office, you will need to pay the accompanying $35 fee that can be paid only through a check or cash, no cards are accepted. If you will need an additional Marriage Certificate copy, the fee for each is $10. Keep in mind that you will already receive one certified copy once your marriage is solemnized (when the wedding happens) that will be mailed to the address that you indicate on your application.

    Where can we go in Cambridge or more information about marriage licenses?

    You may speak to the Cambridge City Clerk, Monday through Friday between the hours of 8:00am to 5:00pm. Their telephone number is (617) 349-4260 and the address is:

    Cambridge City Hall
    795 Massachusetts Ave
    Cambridge, MA 02139


    Brockton Cambridge Fall River
    Haverhill Lawrence Lowell
    Malden Medford New Bedford
    Newton Quincy Somerville
    Springfield Worcester

    Search by State

    To find more information about a business license in your state choose the state below.

    Alabama Kentucky North Dakota
    Alaska Louisiana Ohio
    Arizona Maine Oklahoma
    Arkansas Maryland Oregon
    California Massachusetts Pennsylvania
    Colorado Michigan Rhode Island
    Connecticut Minnesota South Carolina
    DC Mississippi South Dakota
    Delaware Missouri Tennessee
    Florida Montana Texas
    Georgia Nebraska Utah
    Hawaii Nevada Vermont
    Idaho New Hampshire Virginia
    Illinois New Jersey Washington
    Indiana New Mexico West Virginia
    Iowa New York Wisconsin
    Kansas North Carolina Wyoming

    This site is for informational purposes only and does not constitute legal, financial or tax advise. The information on this site should not be relied upon as an official source of information and should be independently verified.


    Related Articles

    Do You Like This Content?