Apply For A Jersey City Marriage License
Where can two people go to apply for a marriage license in Jersey City, New Jersey?
In Jersey City, two people that plan to be married can apply for a marriage license by appearing together in person at the Jersey City Clerk’s office and submitting a marriage license application. The office is located at 280 Grove Street in Jersey City. The office telephone number is (201) 547-5150. Office hours are Monday through Friday from 8:30 a.m. to 12:00 p.m.
What are the qualifications to get a marriage license in Jersey City, New Jersey?
To meet the qualifications for a marriage license in the state of the New Jersey, both applicants must be single and at least 18 years old. If either applicant is younger than 18 years old, he or she will only be able to apply for a marriage license in Jersey City after obtaining parental consent that has been approved by a Superior Court judge. To be granted a marriage license in Jersey City, at least one applicant must be a resident of Jersey City.
What documents are marriage license applicants required to present at the Jersey City Clerk’s office?
Both applicants will need to present a valid photo I.D. such as a driver’s license or a passport, proof of residency, and a social security card. If either applicant has been married before, the Jersey City Clerk’s office requires a certified copy of either the divorce decree or the death certificate. You will also need to provide your own witness. More information about the qualifications to be a witness as well as other marriage license requirements can be found online at Jersey City Marriage License.
Is a blood test required as part of the application for a marriage license in Jersey City, New Jersey?
No. Neither a blood test nor a physical examination is required by the Jersey City Clerk’s office as part of the application for a marriage license.
How much does a marriage license cost in Jersey City, New Jersey?
Currently, a marriage license costs $28.00 in Jersey City, New Jersey. The Jersey City Clerk’s office only accepts cash payments for the marriage license fee.
How long is the waiting period before the marriage license is valid in Jersey City, New Jersey?
The waiting period is 72 hours before the marriage license is valid. The marriage license will be valid anywhere in the state of New Jersey for 30 days from the day that the license was issued.
Who can perform our wedding ceremony in Jersey City, New Jersey?
Ordained clergy members of any religion, judges, retired judges, magistrates and mayors are all among those who are authorized to perform a marriage ceremony in Jersey City. More information about who is authorized to perform marriage ceremonies in New Jersey can be found online at Jersey City Wedding Officiant.
How can two people obtain a marriage certificate in Jersey City, New Jersey?
A marriage certificate can be obtained after the marriage ceremony from the Jersey City Clerk’s office. More information is available online at Jersey City Marriage License.
CLICK THE LINK TO YOUR CITY BELOW TO APPLY FOR A MARRIAGE LICENSE
|Clifton||East Orange||Jersey City|
Search by State
To find more information about a business license in your state choose the state below.
This site is for informational purposes only and does not constitute legal, financial or tax advise. The information on this site should not be relied upon as an official source of information and should be independently verified.