Apply For A Jackson Marriage License
I want to apply for a marriage license in Jackson, Mississippi. Where do I need to go to apply?
To apply for a marriage license in Jackson, you need to visit the Hinds County Circuit Clerk’s office, located at 316 S. President Street, Jackson, Mississippi. The office phone number is (601) 968-6628. The office is open 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. Monday through Friday. You need to visit the office in person together with your prospective spouse in order to apply. You can find a map to the Hinds County Circuit Clerk’s office on the official Hinds County website at Jackson Marriage License.
Do I have to meet certain requirements to apply for a marriage license in Jackson, Mississippi?
You must apply for a marriage license in the county where the bride resides if the bride is under 21 years of age. If you and your prospective spouse are both 21 years of age or older, you may apply for your marriage license in any county in the state. Your marriage license will be valid throughout the state of Mississippi. The bride must be at least 15 years of age and the groom must be at least 17 years of age for you to apply for a marriage license in Jackson, Mississippi. If you are under the age of 21 you must have parental consent to apply for a marriage license.
What documentation do I need to present at the Hinds County Circuit Clerk’s office?
You must present proof of age such as a valid driver’s license or birth certificate. Also, if you have been divorced in the past 6 months you must present your divorce papers.
When does a marriage license become valid in Jackson, Mississippi?
Marriage licenses issued in Jackson become valid after a waiting period of 72 hours. Once the waiting period has passed, your marriage license will be valid throughout the state of Mississippi.
Do I need to have a blood test before I can apply for a marriage license in Jackson, Mississippi?
Yes. According to state law, you must be tested for syphilis before you can be issued a marriage license in Mississippi. You must present a medical certificate of pre-marital syphilis testing when you submit your marriage license application at the Hinds County Circuit Clerk’s office. You may have your blood test at any laboratory that is registered with the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services as an authorized provider of pre-marital syphilis testing.
How much does a marriage license cost in Jackson, Mississippi?
A marriage license issued by the Hinds County Circuit Clerk’s office costs $21.00.
Who can perform my wedding in Jackson, Mississippi?
Any authorized person, such as a judge or an ordained member of religious clergy such as a priest, a minister, or a rabbi, can perform your wedding in Jackson, Mississippi.
Where do I need to go to order my marriage certificate in Jackson, Mississippi?
You can order certified copies of your marriage certificate from the Hinds County Circuit Clerk’s office. The fee is $11.00 for the first certified copy of a marriage certificate and $3.00 for each additional copy.
CLICK THE LINK TO YOUR CITY BELOW TO APPLY FOR A MARRIAGE LICENSE
Search by State
To find more information about a business license in your state choose the state below.
This site is for informational purposes only and does not constitute legal, financial or tax advise. The information on this site should not be relied upon as an official source of information and should be independently verified.