Apply For A Miramar Marriage License
What Should I Know When I Apply for a Miramar, Florida Marriage License?
• When you and your future spouse are ready apply for a marriage license, you will need to visit the nearest Clerk of Courts in Broward County to apply in person. If both you and your fiance/e are both over the age of 18, you will need to bring two forms of ID (a picture ID such as a valid driver’s license, a military ID or a passport and a social security card). If you are not able to provide appropriate identification, you will need to contact the Clerk of Courts to determine what type of identification can be used.
• If you and/or your intended spouse are under the age of 18, you will need to have parental consent to marry in Miramar. You may need to bring your birth certificate, and if either of your parents are deceased, you will need to bring a death certificate as well. If your parents are divorced, and one of them has sole custody, the original custody order will need to be presented to the Clerk of Courts. If either person wishing to be married is under the age of 16, you will need to be in contact with the Clerk of Courts at (954)831-6525, extension 7842.
• If one or both of you are Florida residents, you will be required to adhere to a three-day waiting period after your marriage license is issued to marry, unless you have taken a premarital preparation course. Those couples that choose to take a premarital preparedness class will not be required to observe the mandatory waiting period, and they will save money on their marriage license as well.
• You can find a list of marriage classes online on the website of Miramar Marriage License. If you take the classes, be sure to get a certificate of completion to present to the Clerk of Courts at the time you apply for your marriage license. • Couples will be required to read a Family Law Handbook which outlines the legal issues that you may face, should your marriage end in divorce. The Family Law Handbook is available online from the Broward County website.
Where Do We Apply for Our Marriage License in Miramar, FL?
There is a list of locations for the Clerk of Courts in Broward County online at the Broward County website. You may visit the courthouse that is most convenient to you to apply for your marriage license, and once you receive your marriage license, you will be able to marry in any county in Florida. The hours of operation for the Broward County Clerk of Courts is 8:00am-4:30pm Monday through Friday. The One Stop Division is opened from 9:00am-5:30pm Monday through Friday.
How Much Does a Marriage License Cost in Miramar, Florida?
Marriage licenses fees are non-refundable, and cost $93.50, unless you have a certificate of completion from a pre-marriage preparation course, in which case, your marriage license will cost $61.00. You may pay by cash, by money order credit card. The One Stop Division does not accept checks, but all other locations will take checks.
If We Choose Not to Marry Right Away, Will We Have to Apply for a New Marriage License?
Your Miramar marriage license is valid for 60 days after you receive it. If you choose not to marry in that time, you will have to apply for a new marriage license, and you will need to repay the marriage license fees. Contact the Clerk of Courts if you have taken the marriage preparedness courses to determine if they are still valid. The Clerk of Courts can be reached at (954)831-6525, ext 7842.
Whom Should We Contact With Questions or Concerns?
Contact the Clerk of Courts at (954)831-6525, ext 7842 or research the Broward County website for helpful information about marriage licensure in Miramar, Florida.
CLICK THE LINK TO YOUR CITY BELOW TO APPLY FOR A MARRIAGE LICENSE
Search by State
To find more information about a business license in your state choose the state below.
This site is for informational purposes only and does not constitute legal, financial or tax advise. The information on this site should not be relied upon as an official source of information and should be independently verified.