Apply For A Largo Marriage License
Do You Plan to Marry in Largo, Florida?
Any couple that is planning to marry in Largo will need to have a marriage license. If the couple are both residents of Florida, they will need to obtain their marriage license at least three days prior to their marriage unless they both take a marriage readiness course. If the couple are not from Florida, the three day waiting period is waived. There is information on where to apply for a marriage license online on the Largo Marriage License as well as addresses for each branch of the Pinellas County Clerk of Circuit Court.
What Are Premarital Preparation Courses and Should We Attend One to Get Married in Largo, Florida?
Couples that have attended a premarital preparation course will pay $61.00 for a marriage license, and couples that do not will pay $93.50. They will also be able to marry without waiting for the mandatory three day waiting period that those who do not take them will be subject to. These classes are optional and you are not required to take them, and depending on the course that you choose, you may have to pay a fee to get your certification; that being said, the state of Florida encourages couples to take them to be certain that they are going into a marriage with realistic expectations and with sound information and resources. You may find contact information online on the Largo Marriage License for providers of premarital preparation classes in your area.
Are Minors Allowed to Marry In Largo, Florida?
Minors over the age of 16 can be wedded in Largo providing that they have written parental consent. If one or both of the people seeking a marriage license is under the age of 18, and can prove they are both the parents of their biological child or are expecting a child together, they may marry. Any minor under the age of 16 will not be permitted to marry unless a county judge issues a marriage license.
What Other Requirements Are Necessary to Obtain a Marriage License in Largo?
Proper documentation must be presented when applying for a marriage license. This includes a state issued ID card, a military ID, a driver’s license, or passport. If either party wishing to be married has been married previously, they will have to provide a date of the termination of the marriage and the cause, whether divorce, death or annulment. If you have completed a premarital preparation course, you will need to bring a certificate of completion and a statement of completion from the Pinellas County Marriage License. Each couple seeking a marriage license will be required to read the Family Law Handbook from the Family Law Section of The Florida Bar. You and your spouse to be will need to have social security numbers, or if applicable, your INS number available for you marriage license application.
If you choose to be married by the Deputy Clerk, you will incur a cost of $30.00 in addition to your marriage license costs. Ceremonies are preformed between the hours of 8:00am and 5:00pm Monday through Friday and no appointment is needed. You are not required to be married in Largo even though your license is issued in Pinellas County. Your marriage license is valid in any of the 67 counties in Florida and you may choose to be married in any of them. After your marriage license is issued, it will be valid for 60 days. If you have not married before your license expires, you will need to reapply and repay your fees. Marriage license fees are non-refundable.
Who Can Preform a Marriage in Largo, Florida?
Any regularly ordained minister, a notary public of the state of Florida, judicial officer, Clerk of Circuit Courts can preform a marriage ceremony in any county in Florida.
Do You Have Questions?
ThePinellas County Marriage License has a lot of information for those that are planning to marry in the city of Largo, Florida. You may also contact any branch of the Clerk of the Circuit Court. There is a 24 hour help line with prerecorded information and a clerk during business hours to answer questions and give assistance. The number for the helpline is (727)464-4700.
CLICK THE LINK TO YOUR CITY BELOW TO APPLY FOR A MARRIAGE LICENSE
Search by State
To find more information about a business license in your state choose the state below.
This site is for informational purposes only and does not constitute legal, financial or tax advise. The information on this site should not be relied upon as an official source of information and should be independently verified.