Apply For A Garland Marriage License

I am getting married in Garland, Texas. Where do I need to go to apply for a marriage license?

To apply for a marriage license, you need to go in person to the County Clerk’s office with the person that you are marrying. Marriage licenses issued by any Texas County Clerk’s office will be valid in any other county in Texas, but the most convenient office to Garland residents is most likely the Dallas County Clerk’s office. The Dallas County Clerk’s office is found on the second floor of the Records Building at 509 Main Street in Dallas. The office can be reached by phone at (214) 653-7099. Office hours are 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m., Monday through Friday.

Can I submit a marriage license application online in Dallas County?

Yes, you can access the online marriage application for Dallas County on the Dallas County Clerk’s official website at Garland Marriage License.

What requirements do my fiancé and I need to meet to obtain a marriage license in Garland, Texas?

To be issued a marriage license, both of you must be at least 18 years old and unmarried at the time that you submit your marriage license application. You will need to present a valid form of identification such as a passport or a driver’s license at the Dallas County Clerk’s office and give your social security numbers. If you are a minor, you cannot be issued a marriage license without parental consent. Blood tests are not necessary to be issued a marriage license.

Is there a waiting period to get a marriage license if either of us has been divorced recently?

If either of you has been divorced recently, the divorce needs to be final for at least 30 days before you can receive a new marriage license. You may apply to waive this waiting period. The Dallas County Clerk’s office can provide you with more information about these requirements.

What is the fee that I need to pay to get a marriage license in Garland, Texas?

You need to pay a $71.00 fee to receive a marriage license in Garland, Texas. If you complete a state certified marriage preparation class, you are eligible for a reduced fee. You can visit the Twogether in Texas site for more information about this class: Garland Marriage License.

What is the waiting period before I can be married once I have a Dallas County marriage license?

The waiting period is 72 hours after you receive your marriage license. The marriage license does not become valid until after this waiting period. The waiting period will be waived if you have completed a state certified marriage preparation class or if either of you is active military or works for the United States Department of Defense.

How long is the marriage license valid?

The marriage license is valid for 30 days after has been issued by the Dallas County Clerk’s office.

Who can perform my wedding ceremony in Garland, Texas?  

Rabbis, ministers, priests, and judges are all among those authorized to perform wedding ceremonies in the state of Texas.

Where do I need to go to order my marriage certificate in Garland, Texas?

You may order your marriage certificate through the Dallas County Clerk’s office. You can learn more about ordering your marriage certificate by contacting the Dallas County Clerk’s office. Each copy costs $10.00. You can also learn more at Garland Marriage License.


Abilene Amarillo Arlington
Austin Baytown Beaumont
Brownsville Bryan Carrollton
College Station Corpus Christi Dallas
Denton El Paso Flower Mound
Fort Worth Galveston Garland
Grand Prairie Harlingen Houston
Irving Killeen Lewisville
Longview Lubbock McAllen
McKinney Mesquite Midland
Missouri City North Richland Hills Pasadena
Plano Port Arthur Richardson
Round Rock San Angelo San Antonio
Sugar Land Temple Tyler
Waco Wichita Falls

Search by State

To find more information about a business license in your state choose the state below.

Alabama Kentucky North Dakota
Alaska Louisiana Ohio
Arizona Maine Oklahoma
Arkansas Maryland Oregon
California Massachusetts Pennsylvania
Colorado Michigan Rhode Island
Connecticut Minnesota South Carolina
DC Mississippi South Dakota
Delaware Missouri Tennessee
Florida Montana Texas
Georgia Nebraska Utah
Hawaii Nevada Vermont
Idaho New Hampshire Virginia
Illinois New Jersey Washington
Indiana New Mexico West Virginia
Iowa New York Wisconsin
Kansas North Carolina Wyoming

This site is for informational purposes only and does not constitute legal, financial or tax advise. The information on this site should not be relied upon as an official source of information and should be independently verified.


Related Articles

Do You Like This Content?